Audrey (moanaeyez) wrote in vegancooking,

  • Mood:

Ingredient question:

I'm trying to understand the difference between wheat bran and wheat germ. From what I've been able to google, my understanding is that wheat bran is the outer part of the wheat kernel that is high in fiber but low in nutritional value. And that wheat germ is the inner part of the wheat kernel (without the outer part) that is really high in nutritonal value.

I'm wondering when you would use one instead of the other, and in what type of recipes? I'm also wondering if I can substitute wheat bran in for wheat germ in the How It All Vegan's banana bread recipe?

Thank-you in advance! I hope my question makes sense.
  • Post a new comment


    Anonymous comments are disabled in this journal

    default userpic

    Your IP address will be recorded