June 10th, 2005


emes jello/vegan marshmellows question

i'm confused about the whole thing... what are they saying is not vegan? and how can something have animal ingredients in it and not list it: "Contains Sugar, Carageenan, Locust Bean Gum, Citric Acid, Natural Flavor & Color."

is it the "natural flavor and color" that is in question?

sorry to ask a dumb question --especially if it has already been addressed. i'm just wanting to be correctly informed...and want to pass on knowledgeable, correct information to others.

artichoke dip recipe

someone was talking about one of these recently and i was supposed to post my recipe:

artichoke dip

preheat 375.

1 cup vegenaisse*
1 cup vegan parmesan cheese*
2 cans artichoke hearts, drained
2 cans diced green chilies
8 green onions (green and white parts)
salt and pepper
clove or two of garlic

put everything in food processor and mix--keeping a bit chunky. pour into casserole dish and bake (uncovered) for 10 minutes. stir and bake another 15 minutes til hot and bubbly.

* i start w/less than these amounts and work up to consistency. often times use way less than a cup each... especially the parm chz.

ANYWAY--it's super f---in' yummy and everyone raves and raves about it--even the meateaters ask for the recipe...