Melissa Rose (_melodic_) wrote in vegancooking,
Melissa Rose

Questions about Flour and Sugar

Hi everyone. I couldn't find the answer in the tags so I apologize if this is a repeat:

Lately I've been purchasing Trader Joe's White Whole Wheat flour but then it occurred to me the way they make the whole wheat flour "white" could be by bleaching it which, if they use the same methods for regular bleached flour, that would make it not vegan. Does anyone have information on this?

Same thing goes for any brand of powdered sugar. It is so white and bleached looking, I also assume it is made from white and not raw sugar and thus not vegan either. Does anyone know if this is true and if so are there vegan brands of powdered sugar?

Thanks in advance!
Tags: flours, sweeteners-sugars
  • Post a new comment


    Anonymous comments are disabled in this journal

    default userpic

    Your IP address will be recorded