keep reaching (wefoughthard) wrote in vegancooking,
keep reaching
wefoughthard
vegancooking

food related, butn not 'cooking' related, so i put it underneath a cut. information inside! delete if its too off-topic, i understand.


in the past i have seen a lot of debate in vegan discussion groups about the BK veggie, whether or not its vegan, etc. i myself don't eat it because a) i never believed it was vegan, and b) i'm not going to support a place like burger king.


well, they recently updated their ingredient list on the website...

Vegetables (Mushrooms, Water Chestnuts, Onions, Carrots, Green Bell Peppers, Red Bell Peppers, Black Olives), Textured Vegetable Protein (Soy Protein Concentrate, Wheat Gluten, Water for hydration), Egg Whites, Cooked Brown Rice (Water, Brown Rice), Rolled Oats, Corn Oil, Calcium Caseinate, Soy Sauce (Water, Soybeans, Salt, Wheat), Onion Powder, Corn Starch, Salt, Hydrolyzed Corn, Soy, and Wheat Protein, Autolyzed Yeast Extract, Natural Flavors from non-meat sources, Sugar, Soy Protein Isolate, Spices, Garlic Powder, Dextrose, Jalapeño Pepper Powder, Celery Extract. Contains Egg, Wheat, Soy.
Note: This is NOT a VEGAN product.


http://www.bk.com/Food/Nutrition/ingredients.aspx

and those egg whites aren't part of the mayo, as so many people have always said (yolks are used in mayo, anyway). they're part of the actual 'burger'.


just thought i'd let you guys know, in case for some reason any of you are eating it. someone might want to write that idiot who advocates vegans eating this, too. i forget what his website is, but he pushes the BK veggie like its a good thing. oops.


xposted like a mother.
Subscribe
  • Post a new comment

    Error

    Anonymous comments are disabled in this journal

    default userpic

    Your IP address will be recorded 

  • 9 comments